AFA Awards

Championing excellence in advice

'We believe that championing excellence is integral to building a strong profession​'
Philip Kewin

Today, more than ever, our profession needs leaders who set an uncompromising standard of excellence for all to aspire to. Excellence inspires trust and confidence in people and in businesses and will be the foundation block of the stronger, more rigorous profession that we are all committed to building.

The AFA, together with our partners, are delighted to recognise and promote excellence in our industry through the Annual AFA Awards Program which celebrates excellence, diversity, innovation and education by:

  • recognising the innovative leaders in advice
  • acknowledging the visionary and innovative practices
  • rewarding outstanding female leaders in advice
  • applauding the brightest new talent in advice; and
  • commending those who are committed to pursuing higher professional standards by furthering their education.

About the awards

AFA Adviser of the Year

Since 2003, the AFA has recognised those advisers who sit at the very pinnacle of their profession. The 'Adviser of the Year' Award recognises qualities of leadership, innovation, customer focus and professional excellence that drive our industry forward. As a longstanding champion of Australian financial advisers, Zurich has proudly partnered with the award since its inception.

AFA Practice of the Year

The AFA Practice of the Year award recognises those advice businesses which are at the forefront of taking the profession forward through innovation, customer centricity and advice excellence. Businesses will be assessed against four cornerstones of business success: Planning and Governance, Operational Excellence, People and Performance; and Marketing. The judges are looking for a business that is making a consistent difference in their lives of their clients.

AFA Rising Star of the Year

The AFA Rising Star of the Year Award recognises new advisers (who have practiced for four years or less) who provide quality advice, demonstrate a commitment to education and contribute to the industry and their community. Established in 2005, ANZ Wealth is pleased to continue the support for this award and the important role the award plays in fostering emerging talent. The Award reflects the AFA’s belief that recognising excellence is integral to nurturing a strong profession.

AFA Female Excellence in Advice

Established in 2011, the award recognises women in financial advice who are making a significant contribution to their profession, their community and their clients. The Award, partnered by TAL, promotes positive change in the financial advice sector, encouraging more women to enter the industry and take leadership roles. Importantly, it aims to give choice to Australians when it comes to choosing a financial adviser. We believe an industry with more female financial advisers and a better representation of women in senior roles can begin to address the challenges of Australian women when it comes to being adequately resourced for retirement, obtaining insurance and having access to quality advice.

AFA Excellence in Education

The AFA Excellence in Education Award recognises advisers who continually invest in themselves, their staff and their business, to raise professional standards through education and make a positive impact upon Australian’s perceptions of professional financial advisers. The award recognises and rewards advice professionals who undertake the challenge of acquiring knowledge, applying it to their business and sharing with their clients, their industry and their community.

Our 2019 Award Winners

AFA Female Excellence in Advice

Dawn Thomas, Senior Financial Adviser, Wealthwise

AFA Female Excellence in Advice of the Year 2019 Finalists:

  • Felicity Cooper, Cooper Wealth Management 
  • Dawn Thomas, Wealthwise
  • Tabitha Tworek, Insight Wealth Planning 
  • Tracey Ferguson, Coastal Financial Advisers 

AFA Adviser of the Year

Simone Du Chesne, Principal & Financial Adviser, EQ Wealth

AFA Adviser of the Year 2019 Finalists:

  • Joseph Hoe, Wealthwise
  • Simone Du Chesne, EQ Wealth   
  • Elliot Watson, Elliot Watson Financial Planning  

Excellence in Education

Ben Nash, Founder and Adviser, Pivot Wealth

AFA Excellence in Education 2019 Finalists:

  • Kearsten James, Cooper Wealth Management  
  • Nicola Schneider, Robina Financial Solutions
  • Ben Nash, Pivot Wealth 
  • Joseph Meawad, Trinity Financial Advisers 

AFA Rising Star

Chris Carlin, Founder & Financial Planner, Master Your Money Now

AFA Rising Star of the Year 2019 Finalists:

  • Rebecca Maher, The Fiscal Mum 
  • Daniel Jackson, DBK Financial Solutions Pty Ltd   
  • Chris Carlin, Master Your Money Now
  • Ellie Fordham, Dozzi Financial Advice 
  • Jade Louise McKay, Essential Financial Advice 
  • Victoria Devine, Zella Wealth