AFA Awards



We believe that championing excellence is integral to building a strong profession.

The AFA are excited to open nominations for our 16th annual AFA Awards Program and are looking forward to unearthing and rewarding the best across the financial advice spectrum.

Each year the AFA, together with our partners, announce five prestigious awards. These awards reflect the associations belief that recognising excellence in practice is integral to building a strong profession.

AFA Award winners and finalists lead the wya and create a more trusted, robust and diverse profession to help Australians secure their financial future. Promoting outstanding leaders and businesses in advice will continue to raise the bar for the profession.

Nominate today!

Nominations open: 29 April 2019

Nominations and applications close: 7 June 2019

AFA Adviser of the Year

Recognising the innovative leaders in advice

AFA Practice of the Year

Recognising the leading businesses in advice

AFA Female Excellence in Advice

Recognising outstanding female leadership in advice

AFA Rising Star of the Year

Recognising the brightest new talent in advice

AFA Excellence in Education

Recognising the transformative power of education in advice


AFA Adviser of the Year

Since 2003, the AFA has recognised those advisers who sit at the very pinnacle of their profession. The 'Adviser of the
Year' Award recognises qualities of leadership, innovation, customer focus and professional excellence that drive our
industry forward. As a longstanding champion of Australian financial advisers, Zurich has proudly partnered with the 
award since its inception.


Hugh Robertson, Managing Director Centaur Financial

AFA Adviser of the Year 2018 Finalists:

Tom Dawe

Capital Focused

Hugh Robertson

Centaur Financial Services

Elliot Watson

 Elliot Watson Financial Planning


AFA Practice of the Year

Established by the AFA and Zurich in 2014, this award recognizes industry changes and the development of business models in which innovation and best practice are driven by principals managing the performance of their practice. 

Important judging criteria for this award include financial performance, client satisfaction and also contribution to the financial literacy of clients.


Troy MacMillan & Cara Graham, TWD Australia

AFA Practice of the Year 2018 Finalists:

Multiforte Financial Services

Panoramic Financial Services

TWD Australia


AFA Rising Star

The AFA Rising Star of the Year Award recognises new advisers (who have practiced for four years or less) who provide quality advice, demonstrate a commitment to education and contribute to the industry and their community. 

Established in 2005, ANZ Wealth is pleased to continue the support for this award and the important role the award plays in fostering emerging talent. 

The Award reflects the AFA’s belief that recognising excellence is integral to nurturing a strong profession.

Rebecca Pritchard, Financial Coach, Wealth Enhancers

AFA Rising Star 2018 Finalists:

Andrew Debono - Financial Adviser, Announcer Group

Jacinta Martin, Altitude Financial Management

Rachael Bursell, Finance Your Future

Rebecca Pritchard, Wealth Enhancers

Ryan Skeen, Zella

Sam Jewell, Rising Tide Financial Services


AFA Female Excellence in Advice

Established in 2011, the award recognises women in financial advice who are making a significant contribution to their profession, their community and their clients. The Award, partnered by TAL, promotes positive change in the financial advice sector, encouraging more women to enter the industry and take leadership roles. Importantly, it aims to give choice to Australians when it comes to choosing a financial adviser. We believe an industry with more female financial advisers and a better representation of women in senior roles can begin to address the challenges of Australian women when it comes to being adequately resourced for retirement, obtaining insurance and having access to quality advice.

Donna Lee Powell, Principal Financial Adviser, DLP Life Design

AFA Female Excellence in Advice 2018 Finalists:


Dominique Bergel-Grant

Leapfrog LIFE


Joanna Ryan

Lumix Wealth


Tonina Ciarrocchi

Alta Financial Planning


Donna Lee Powell

DLP Life Design


Heidi Schwegler

AHS Financial


Nicoles Heales

Nicole Heales Financial

Excellence in Education

The AFA Excellence in Education Award recognises advisers who continually invest in themselves, their staff and their business, to raise professional standards through education and make a positive impact upon Australian’s perceptions of professional financial advisers.

The award, established in 2008 by the AFA and Asteron Life recognises and rewards advice professionals who undertake the challenge of acquiring knowledge, applying it to their business and sharing with their clients, their industry and their community.


Felicity Cooper, Director, Cooper Wealth Management

AFA Excellence in Education 2018 Finalists:


Helen Russo

Gemminni Pty Ltd


Michael Fox

Main Street Financial Solutions


Dean Loosmore

Minca Pty Ltd


Calab Dozzi

Dozzi Financial Advice


Felicity Cooper

Cooper Wealth Management Pty Ltd


Please click here to view our Honor Role of previous award winners.