AFA Awards Recognising Excellence



We believe that recognising excellence is integral to building a strong profession. Each year the AFA, together with our partners, announce five prestigious awards for quality advice and an award for Life Company of the Year.

The AFA are excited to open nominations for our 15th annual AFA Awards Program and are looking forward to unearthing and rewarding the best across the financial advice spectrum. Each year the AFA, together with our partners, announce five prestigious awards. These awards reflect the associations belief that recognising excellence in practice is integral to building a strong profession.

The annual advice awards, announced at the AFA National Adviser Conference, demonstrates the AFA’s commitment to the growth of the profession by:

  • Embracing and recognising excellence in advice
  • Recognising the next generation of advisers
  • Increasing diversity and improving education standards

AFA Award winners and finalists lead the way to create a more trusted, robust and diverse profession that continues to raise the bar of the profession. 

Please click here to view our Honor Role of previous award winners.

AFA Adviser of the Year

Since 2003, the AFA has recognised those advisers who sit at the very pinnacle of their profession. The ‘Adviser of the Year’ Award recognises qualities of leadership, innovation, customer focus and professional excellence that drive our industry forward. As a longstanding champion of Australian financial advisers, Zurich has proudly partnered with the award since its inception.

You can see our AFA Award Winners for 2017 and Finalists for 2018 below:


Charlie Fraser, Shadforth Financial Group


AFA Adviser of the Year 2018 Finalists:

Tom Dawe

Capital Focused

Hugh Robertson

Centaur Financial Services

Elliot Watson

 Elliot Watson Financial Planning


AFA Practice of the Year

Established by the AFA and Zurich in 2014, this award recognizes industry changes and the development of business models in which innovation and best practice are driven by principals managing the performance of their practice. 

Important judging criteria for this award include financial performance, client satisfaction and also contribution to the financial literacy of clients.


Ravi Agarwal, MEDIQ Financial Services


AFA Practice of the Year 2018 Finalists:

Multiforte Financial Services

Panoramic Financial Services

TWD Australia


AFA Rising Star

The AFA Rising Star of the Year Award recognises new advisers (who have practiced for four years or less) who provide quality advice, demonstrate a commitment to education and contribute to the industry and their community. 

Established in 2005, ANZ Wealth is pleased to continue the support for this award and the important role the award plays in fostering emerging talent. 

The Award reflects the AFA’s belief that recognising excellence is integral to nurturing a strong profession.

Mia Taylor, Evalesco Financial Services


AFA Rising Star 2018 Finalists:

Andrew Debono - Financial Adviser, Announcer Group

Jacinta Martin, Altitude Financial Management

Rachael Bursell, Finance Your Future

Rebecca Pritchard, Wealth Enhancers

Ryan Skeen, Zella

Sam Jewell, Rising Tide Financial Services



AFA Female Excellence in Advice

Established in 2011, the award recognises women in financial advice who are making a significant contribution to their profession, their community and their clients. 

The Award, partnered by TAL, promotes positive change in the financial advice sector, encouraging more women to enter the industry and take leadership roles. 

Importantly, it aims to give choice to Australians when it comes to choosing a financial adviser. We believe an industry with more female financial advisers and a better representation of women in senior roles can begin to address the challenges of Australian women when it comes to being adequately resourced for retirement, obtaining insurance and having access to quality advice.

Lea Schodel, Wellthy


AFA Female Excellence in Advice 2018 Finalists:


Dominique Bergel-Grant

Leapfrog LIFE


Joanna Ryan

Lumix Wealth


Tonina Ciarrocchi

Alta Financial Planning


Donna Lee Powell

DLP Life Design

VICHeidi SchweglerAHS Financial
VICNicoles HealesNicole Heales Financial

Excellence in Education

The AFA Excellence in Education Award recognises advisers who continually invest in themselves, their staff and their business, to raise professional standards through education and make a positive impact upon Australian’s perceptions of professional financial advisers.

The award, established in 2008 by the AFA and Asteron Life recognises and rewards advice professionals who undertake the challenge of acquiring knowledge, applying it to their business and sharing with their clients, their industry and their community.


Michael Ward, Maxim Private Wealth 


AFA Excellence in Education 2018 Finalists:


Helen Russo

Gemminni Pty Ltd


Michael Fox

Main Street Financial Solutions


Dean Loosmore

Minca Pty Ltd


Calab Dozzi

Dozzi Financial Advice


Felicity CooperCooper Wealth Management Pty Ltd

AFA Life Company of the Year Award

Over its 70 years of involvement in the advice industry, the AFA has sought to profile organisations that have made lasting changes to the industry. This task has led to the creation of Life Company of the Year Awards.

Research house, Plan For Life (PFL) and the Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) in December 2006 launched the inaugural Life Insurance Company of the Year Product and Service Quality Awards 2006.

These annual awards rank life insurance companies in the key areas of Product and Service Quality. In addition, a separate Platinum award will recognise the overall winner.

Details of the 2017, AFA Life Company of the Year Award coming soon...

Consumers' Choice of the Year Awards

The AFA and the Beddoes Institute are excited to announce the launch of the Consumer Choice Awards which is underpinned by the Beddoes Institute's Policyholder Perceptions Study and Claimant Journey Study. 

The Consumer Choice Awards will assist advisers and their clients as they choose life, trauma, total permanent disability (TPD), and income protection insurers and policies. 

"By assessing how well the Life Companies are servicing advisers' clients, both policyholders and claimants, we are looking to raise the bar of service delivery across the sector to create improved outcomes for consumers". Philip Kewin, AFA CEO

"These are undoubtedly Australia's premier customer-centric Life Insurance Awards". Dr Rebecca Sheils, Beddoes Institute, Director

The 2017 Consumer Choice Awards will take place in November. Click here for more information.

Find further information on these awards by visiting the Consumer Choice website