Governance & Board of Directors


The Association of Financial Advisers (AFA) is a membership organization governed by a Constitution and a board of directors.

Position Outline – State Director

Position Outline – AFA Treasurer

Position Outline - AFA National President

Position Outline - AFA National Vice President


AFA Board of Directors

The AFA Board is elected by practicing member advisers, and only practicing member advisers can hold voting rights. The charter of the AFA Board is to represent the interests of financial advisers and their clients and to ensure that the AFA Code of Conduct: Principles of Practice remain relevant and complied with.

AFA Board elections are held every 2 years, and announced at the AGM in October.


AFA Executive Committee





Marc Bineham

National President

Michael Nowak
National Vice President

Sam Perera

Philip Kewin
Company Secretary


AFA State Directors






Patricia Garcia
QLD Director 

Jawad Ahmad
​SA/NT Director
Matthew Hawkins
TAS Director





Sam Robinson
VIC Director
Glen James
NSW/ACT Director
 James Ford
WA Director